Two of my stories nominated for Derringers!

Covers of the Anthologies where my stories were featured


Since 1998, the Short Mystery Fiction Society has awarded the annual Derringers—named after the popular pocket pistol—to outstanding published stories and people who've greatly advanced or supported the form. Nominees and winners are selected by members of the Short Mystery Fiction Society. The 2018 winners will be announced on May 15, so if you are an SMFS member, read these stories and vote!

Last year I published my first two short stories ever, and both of them have been nominated for Derringer awards! This is a huge, huge, honor for me!

I've listed the 2018 finalists below, along with links to their stories when available. Gerald So is posting interviews with each author online. I include links to those as they become available. Happy reading!

2018 Derringer Award Finalists

As judged by Shortmystery member volunteer panels and announced on Shortmystery by Derringer Awards Coordinator Jay Hartman:

For Best Flash (Up to 1,000 words)

For Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words)

For Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words)

For Best Novelette (8,001-20,000 words)

Congratulations and good luck to the 2018 Derringer Award finalists! Watch this space for an announcement of the winners!